Thursday, June 25, 2009


British Indian Ocean Territory is a British dependency, with an important U.S. military base. It is formed by the Chagos Islands (Diego Garcia, Peros Banhos, etc...) in the middle of the Indian Ocean.. The territory was established on 8 November 1965 by the amalgamation of the Aldabra, Farquhar and Desroches islands (formerly part of the Seychelles) and the Chagos Archipelago (formerly from Mauritius). On 29 June 1976 the former Seychelles islands were retroceded to the Seychelles and were called there 'ZIL ELOIGNE SESEL'

There are no native inhabitants, only military personnel live on the islands. Read more about BIOT here.

A souvenir sheet issued to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the RAF.

FDC of stamps issued to commemorate the 90th anniversary of RAF

Souvenir sheet showing King George V, as Marshal of the RAF

No comments: