Saturday, July 18, 2009

British Antatric Territory

The British Antarctic Territory was constituted on 3 March 1962, comprising of Graham Land, South Orkneys and South Shetland Islands, formally part of the Falkland Islands Dependencies. The main bases in the Territory are Rothera and Halley (both manned all year round) and Port Lockroy and Signy Island which are manned in the summer seasons only.

The British Antarctic Survey operate these bases and it was from these that scientists discovered the hole in the ozone layer.

British Antarctic Territory lies to the south of latitude 60°S , between longitudes 20° and 80°W, and, until 1989, was administered by a high commissioner, resident in the Falkland Islands. In 1989, the administration was moved to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London. The office of commissioner is held by the head of Overseas Territories Department and the administrator is the head of the Polar Regions Section.

On 7 May 2009, the Royal Navy celebrated 100 years of Naval Aviation, on the anniversary of the date in 1909 when the Admiralty placed its first order for a Naval Airship. It was a radical shift in military thinking that was to lead to the formation of the Royal Naval Air Service, later renamed the Fleet Air Arm, and which marked the beginnings of the formidable versatility and capability of Naval Air Power.

Fly Navy 100 is a programme of centennial events running throughout 2009 aimed at raising awareness of the legacy of the Fleet Air Arm. The British Antarctic Territory issueed their tribute, a commemorative set of four stamps and one miniature sheet..

The stamps issued depict:
10p Westland Lynx Helicopter
10p Fairey Seafox
90p Westland Wasp
90p Supermarine Walrus

The ₤2 miniature shows HM Airship No.1 Mayfly

No comments: